Trusted local news leader for the Grand Canyon
Sun, Nov. 17

Incumbents retain seats<br>in only 2 contested races

Grand Canyon-Tusayan voters went with the incumbents in the only two contested races in Tuesday's election.

Jon Streit, a current member of the school board who was appointed to the position by the county one year ago, retained his seat by garnering 59.4 percent of the vote. Eric Guiessaz, a local resident and parent who lives in rural Tusayan, attracted 40.6 percent of the vote. Streit will serve a two-year term.

Bess Foster and Tammie Harris ran uncontested for the two four-year term vacancies.

On the Tusayan Fire District Board, incumbents John Thurston, Ann Wren and Brenda Halvorson all retained their seats. Thurston and Wren were well ahead with 58 and 55 votes, respectively, while the battle for third came down to the wire. Halvorson received 37 votes, just six more than Clayton.

On the Coconino Association for Vocations, Industry and Technology Board, Clarinda Vail ran uncontested for the District 2 seat, which represents Grand Canyon and Tusayan. Dan Tobin was the lone candidate for the District 5 seat, which is an at-large position.

John Quinn and Chris Thurston were re-elected to seats on the South Grand Canyon Sanitary District Board in an uncontested race.

Finally, the Grand Canyon School budget override passed by an overwhelming 75-25 margin.

For a rundown of voting by precinct and on other candidates and propositions, see the Nov. 13 issue of the Grand Canyon News.


District 2-GC-Tusayan (Elect 1)

Rk Candidate Votes Pct.

1. Clarinda Vail 319 100.0


District 5-At large (Elect 1)

Rk Candidate Votes Pct.

1. Daniel Tobin 3,510 100.0

Grand Canyon School Board

Four-year term (Elect 2)

Rk Candidate Votes Pct.

1. Bess Foster 298 54.4

2. Tammie Harris 250 45.6

Two-year term (Elect 1)

Rk Candidate Votes Pct.

1. Jon Streit 221 59.4

2. Eric Guiessaz 151 40.6

Tusayan Fire District Board

(Elect 3)

Rk Candidate Votes Pct.

1. John Thurston 58 32.0

2. Ann Wren 55 30.4

3. Brenda Halvorson 37 20.4

4. Coy Clayton 31 17.1

South Grand Canyon Sanitary District Board

(Elect 2)

Rk Candidate Votes Pct.

1. John Quinn 42 51.2

2. Chris Thurston 40 48.8

GC School Budget Override

Yes or No

Answer Votes Pct.

1. Yes 311 75.1

2. No 103 24.9

Event Calendar
Event Calendar link
Submit Event